Oxfam bringing joy once again

A short while ago I had a fairly major find in Canterbury Oxfam and today I had a similarly big hit in the Oxfam Books shop just down the road from that place. My eyes lit-up when I saw a thick section of green in the kids titles, curiously some brown too which I’m unfamiliar with…

2014-08-30 11.01.18

 

The Warlock of Firetop Mountain was a very early edition, I think it only listed the first three titles as being available in the series, but I left that on the shelf for some other lucky person. And although I have yet to add Appointment With FEAR to my collection, I’m not after the Wizard editions so that stayed there too, Freeway Fighter I have recently acquired on eBay as it’s my next book to read at the time of writing… so what did I actually pick up in the end?

2014-08-30 14.01.19

2014-08-30 14.00.57

 

Handily, with these books I’ve filled an imminent gap, with my collection now taking me almost up to book 22, Robot Commando, ironically with Appointment With FEAR being the only title missing up to that point. As with my previous big haul, these books appear to be from an abandoned collection once owned by a ‘Lionel Cornish’. Seems Mr. Cornish once held these books in great esteem, writing ‘KEEP OFF’ on one inside cover, but then reduced his interest to the point of being willing to accept £1.95 for it.

2014-08-30 14.01.54

 

Well, they’re mine now, Cornish. All mine.

 

6 thoughts on “Oxfam bringing joy once again

  1. khinjarsi says:

    I love it when a block of books you’re looking for appears in the charity shops. I recently found almost all the original hardback Series of Unfortunate Events books in Oxfam. Needless to say, they are now on my bookshelf.

  2. What are the remaining gaps in your collection? I have been rebuilding my old set and am now sitting on a fair number of duplicate copies of Puffin edition that I’m hoping to find some trades for.

  3. […] been well over a year that I’ve had this one on the shelf, arriving at the same time as the last book I covered, […]

Leave a Reply

