A realised fantasy

A long while has passed since I had a good charity shop find, but as my Twitter and Facebook peeps already know, yesterday you could say I made up for that. By now I can scan up and down a shelf of books and tell you if there’s a Fighting Fantasy title there within a second or two, what I wasn’t expecting from Canterbury Oxfam was for the whole shelf to be made up of Fighting Fantasy books!

20140228_125108

I haven’t seen the like since the early 90’s! Needless to say I was taking a picture of the display within seconds and rifling through to pick out my share of the loot. I should point out that these are all Fighting Fantasy books too, not just the face of the shelf. Despite this though, I only came away with six books as a lot of the titles were ones I already own, although it does seem somewhat ungrateful of my luck to say ‘only’. I believe the titles I left on the shelf were Warlock of Firetop Mountain, Sky Lord, Creature of Havoc, Island of the Lizard King, Trial of the Champions, Star Strider, Caverns of the Snow Witch…. and in my excitement I forgot the others.

What did I walk out with, then?

2014-02-28 15.44.26

2014-02-28 15.45.26

All in really good condition too, the adventure sheets haven’t been touched and there is barely a crease or dog-ear to be seen.

So, where the hell has this mother-load come from? It seems that someones old collection has been taken out of storage and dumped into an Oxfam shop and kept together as a job-lot, you see each book has a name written on the inside cover, ‘R. Bennett’. There is also a number written, a different one on each book, so maybe he numbered them as he read them? I don’t know, but whoever you are Mr. Bennett, I hope you don’t end up regretting giving them away. And if you do, you could always start a blog…

2 thoughts on “A realised fantasy

  1. Fido says:

    Lucky. Not a bad find! Am hoping you left Sky Lord behind because you already own it. 😉 (I have genuine love for that book)

  2. I have all the books bar two. City of Theives, Forest of Doom, Deathtrap Dungeon, House of Hell and Appointment with F.E.A.R. were my faovurites.

Leave a Reply

