Khare – Cityport of Traps – Conclusions

I write this one up after a holiday and so I’m sitting with my book trying to remember just exactly what the hell happened in this part whilst the streets and hills of Los Santos are trying to pry me away.

What I do remember is that I certainly enjoyed the book and that the quality and feel of the series continues to remain high after The Shamutanti Hills, which I enjoyed a great deal. With Khare though, I did have a few problems too. The lesser of these problems was down to my own expectations if I’m honest. I was hoping for another City of Thieves style experience, but I seemed to spend most of my time in the outskirts of the city or underneath it in the sewers! Having said that, while the sewer section was a bit boring, the small, ramshackle huts scattered around the city outskirts were very colourful and I had some great encounters there, especially the bizarre Flayer chef. I think that I missed this one though, a great little bunch of characters were drawn for this group or half-orc children.

s2 014

I think my biggest problem was some of the puzzles, as I mentioned in my read-through, the main culprits being the guillotine, rune puzzle and the order of the spell lines. I would be interested to know if the pulleys and ropes in the guillotine puzzle illustration actually correspond to the outcome? I simply lost interest when I realised how much time I was potentially going to waste trying to figure it out! I am informed by a reader that the rune puzzle corresponds to numbers on the face of a dice, personally I would have never made that connection in a million years. And with the spell, the lines seem to flow in any number of combinations making solving that puzzle pure guess-work, which I don’t think is ever a good thing. Unless I missed something that tells you the order in which they fit together?

Despite this though, the fact the book was a bit harder than The Shamutanti Hills made up for these issues, that there was actually something for me to work towards and search for meant there was a great deal more tension, especially as I neared the end of the book. It’s just a shame that I messed up and forgot my Flanker reference or I’d have made it all the way through in one uninterrupted go!

s2_map

The illustrations generally continued to be of a high quality, but before I go onto some of the better ones I missed, there has to be mention of some of the half-arsed ones. Some encounters seemed to be accompanied by what should have been incidental illustrations to space out the text, but blown up to be full-page drawings, much like this one.

s2 016

Compared to the supremely detailed scenes that decorate the rest of the book, it was a shame to see some pages with so much white space. To get us back on track, here’s one encounter that like the Harpies, I had previously only been aware of from Out of the Pit, the severely messed-up Living Corpse.

s2 026

Images of the city itself were something I would have liked to see more of, like this brilliant, higgledy-piggledy scene with the wonderful little cat scampering across the street.

s2 023

What there were plenty of though were interiors, lots of shops, inns and residences were detailed in this book and even though I encountered plenty, there were still many I never visited. The first one in particular looks very intriguing – so much detail!

s2 019

s2 025

s2 022

And the last one there, with its magic paintbrush, very much makes me think of that wonderfully creative quest from Oblivion.

To finish up, here’s a happy looking fish to send you on your way.

s2 021

Next step, the apparently hard-as-nails, The Seven Serpents. Never-fear though, I have a ring a blind man gave me!

5 thoughts on “Khare – Cityport of Traps – Conclusions

  1. Adam says:

    First, I wanted to let you know that I enjoy your entertaining blog and the stories of your adventures. I’m a big Fighting Fantasy fan from way back, so it’s nice to read about others playing these books.

    One thing I don’t understand, though: Why do you think the spell lines could be said in any order?

    Tumblers two sealed deep inside
    one lock made out of golem’s hide
    by Courga’s grace and Fourga’s pride
    I bid you portals open wide!

    That’s the only possible order; trying it any other way and it makes no sense grammatically.

    • Glad you’re enjoying reliving some old experiences!

      I guess the spell puzzle is down to your own interpretation, the final line I concede must come last, but I see no reason why the first three lines can’t be switched around a bit and still have it make sense. Maybe my English is bad!

  2. One lock made out of golem’s hide,
    Tumblers two sealed deep inside,

    You have a lock, it has two tumblers inside it. While the structure is a little more poetic or ‘floral’, it makes perfect sense that way too in my opinion.

    That’s me done on the subject!

  3. IIRC the order you get the lines on a direct run through the city gives you the numbers in order. Naturally I have thrown out the adventure sheet where I wrote them down in the order I got them and can’t verify this without a trip to the library.

    There used to be a lot of puzzle books with those pulley-and-gear puzzles in them, so it was probably a lot easier to solve them after lots of practice. I had trouble doing it when I re-read Khare thanks to the resizing of the image, so it’s a good thing I knew the answer.

    I think the lightning bolt illustration is it’s one of the ones from the Sorcery Spell Book, like the one with the giant appearing and the one for the goblins. They used those three to pad out the illustrations. Speaking of which, the interior of the gambling halls wasn’t in the Wizard copy I read – but they did put all the spell book pictures in the spell appendix, only they’re too small to make out the detail!

  4. Latoya says:

    We coldv’ue done with that insight early on.

Leave a Reply

