The young men of Oyster Bay face a grim future of slavery, starvation and a lingering death

Well there’s an intro for you. Those young men! Oh my! I do hope the voice in your head is Big Gay Al at the moment.

And I’m now trying to re-write this post after auto-save kindly saved only the first sentence I had written before last nights power cut.

Ok, that’s enough of that, Island of the Lizard King then, honestly not one that I remember with particularly great enthusiasm, not to say it was a bad book, I just don’t really remember anything particularly awesome about it. However, I can remember getting hold of the book for the first time. I think I must have been about 9 years old and was on a family holiday to Brighton on the south coast of England. My chosen book for the trip was Battleblade Warrior, but I polished that one off pretty quickly and needed something else to occupy me for the trip. So, off we went to WH Smiths so I could pick out a brand new Fighting Fantasy book, stupidly exciting times when you have yet to get one of those job things. I can even remember the kind of shelf it was on. See, I’ve forgotten all the maths and chemistry I learned, but I can remember a shelf I once saw. Thank you, brain.

My current copy of Island of the Lizard King has however come from eBay, my charity shop hits are really drying up! Anyway, it’s in pretty good condition really…

IMG_0522

 

We do have our first filled-out adventure sheet though! I’ve hoped to get a glimpse into other peoples experiences of the books through any scribbling they have made in the pages and in this one we find a reader who clearly made the adventure a little hard for himself with a somewhat iffy Skill score…

IMG_0524

 

I have actually lied though, as I can remember a little about the story, namely the thing on the Ian McCaig drawn cover art atop the lizard kings head, the Gonchonkoghonkaka as I believe it was called. It always creeped me out a bit though and in later years I could never look at one of these chaps without being reminded of it.

6fbb7cbd_ripley-vs-facehugger

And as seen as everyone else seems to be saying it at the moment, I wasn’t particularly shocked to see that Colonial Marines sucks either.

On reading the Wiki, an interesting tit-bit of Lizard King  theory reveals itself  –

The Hero starts his journey in Fang, the setting of the previous gamebook, Deathtrap Dungeon.[3] The Dungeon itself is mentioned by Mungo as the place where his father met his end.[4] While some have suggested it is possible that the Hero of this book is the same individual as that of Deathtrap Dungeon (and by extension, also that of City of Thieves), it is nowhere explicitly stated that he is.

But my guy is stuck forever working 9-to-5 for Baron Sukumvitz with a stupid tattoo on his fore-head, so that’s an end to that little bit of RP, from my perspective at least.

Before I head off to drink red wine and play Mark of the Ninja, I’ll also drop in another plug for Twitter here as I do have a habit of dropping stuff in on there that I don’t here and I’m forgetting what I’ve mentioned where now… but if you’d been following me of late then you’d have known that my favourite game of the last decade or so, Dark Souls, was influenced by Fighting Fantasy artwork and that there’s currently a full set of  Fighting Fantasy books on eBay at the moment, interested to see how much that gets. You can find me on @ff_project.

 

ff-logo

 

Leave a Reply

